Illustrator Journal #13: Visual Research and some more Studying

Being able to interpret and capture the surrounding environment in any kind of media is a crucial skill to have for an artist/illustrator. Since I’ll be referencing objects and places in the real world for my inspiration, recording any peculiar detail will be helpful as a guide and refine my technical drawing skills, no matter how rough or neat. Here’s some pen drawings I did of objects in and around my surroundings:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Also, I happened upon a book called Gray’s Anatomy by Henry Gray and as it says, GA is one of the best reference books for students, doctors and artists. This will also be helpful towards my aspirations in terms of being able to study anatomy and get a better insight into how each body part, nerve, muscle and gland works so I can draw the best figures possible.

It’s a huge book, but as mentioned earlier, it’s for reference when I need to look something up. This kind of book will be essential for when I head off to University in September and it’ll be a great learning tool.

What do you think?

