Illustrator Journal #7: Studying Art Movements

No particular illustration work today, since college has kept me preoccupied. I decided instead to pick up a couple of books and learn about art movements that came before the modern day. The reasoning is less about academic prowess and more about personal insight: I am curious, so I want to study. The two books are entitled:

“Concepts of Modern Art” by Nikos Stangos
ConceptsOfModernArt

and

“New Media in Late 20th Century Art” by Michael Rush
21uwpimyDmL__SL500_AA300_

Both will help me gain some knowledge in the styles of art that came before me and perhaps give me some inspiration to my illustration work. So far I’m only partway through the first book and it’s going to take me a long time before I finish them both. From what I have read, it’s such a good resource (that I loaned from the library) and the more I read, the more intelligent I feel. There are some interesting illustrations that go in the back of Concepts of Modern Art to compliment the essays and their contents. As much as I was sceptical about picking up an arts book, I find that it’s thoroughly enjoyable to read, if at best daunting with the vocabulary.

What do you think?

