Illustrator Journal #1: First Step

Lately, I’ve been questioning what sort of direction I was taking with my Sunday posts and it culminated to a predicament. I realized that my artist journal was lacking any sense of direction and didn’t have a theme, or structure.

So, I’ve decided to revamp this post and give some direction. It’s going to be called illustrator journal because I want to become a comic book illustrator and will detail all my steps on this journey. Information and artwork that gets me one step closer to my goal will go here. This will be a Sunday post so all my week’s experience can accumulate into this post.

In essence, any content related to me becoming an illustrator will go here, which includes things like: Case Studies, drawing/practice sessions (for skill development), my influences & featured artists/illustrators, photographs of places I go to, events I attend and the people I meet. Do not worry, as Illustration Wednesday posts will keep going, but may not be related to this subject matter.

Sorry, there won’t be any pictures for the first post as it’s only the start. With all this being said, I think I should lay myself some initial targets, right? Well to start the journey, I need to look into a few things:

– Develop character concepts
– Attend art exhibitions and/or illustration themed events
– Design a logo, or an iconic character

Of course, any miscellaneous art projects will be posted on a separate day and will take a more random submission schedule (depending on frequency of these activities). So you may be surprised if a random post comes up on… let’s say, Tuesday, with a myriad of paintings or other things.

With all that said and done, it is time for me to start my journey not only as an artist, but an aspiring comic book illustrator.

~ “An adventure is less about how many footsteps are made, but by the life you live while making them.”

What do you think?

