IW: T-box Concept

So i’ve been mulling over something while I was working on The Animal Kingdom and this is it. I’ve been contemplating the concept of my character T-box and his identity, so I created another illustration to show a little bit of his darker side.

001

This is T-Box with a bit of a darker attitude and given that he can create anything, the black tendrils act as an extension of his feelings right now, as they appear like tendrils seeping in and around everything like a taint. With this drawing, I’m starting to learn what kind of drawing medium works with what kind of canvas. This is an illustration made with Sharpie drawing pen on watercolour paper and it looks really good because there’s a strong contrast that’s expected with B&W images. When the idea was first thought of, I wouldn’t have believed myself that it would look this good so far and believe me, I have plans for this guy here.

Sooner or later, I will develop some more conceptual (and coloured) works of T-Box and add some facts about him, but for now, it’s just mere B&W and something to tide ya’ll over until I get into some serious work. I’d like to stress that’s it’s always beneficial for any artist/designer to just experiment with materials and methods and see what works for you.

What do you think?

