IW: Inspiration from an inspiration from a limmerick…

Alice Thompson created an illustration to go with a limmerick by Edward Lear. Here it is, as well as the Limmerick:

There was an Old Person of Leeds,

Whose head was infested with beads;

She sat on a stool and ate gooseberry fool,

Which agreed with that person of Leeds.

I loved the detail in the hair and I even atempted this myself, so I know the effort and technical skill it required. The freeform figure is so relaxed and jolly, that she is seen as carefree or even stupid. So I was inspired and tried an illustration in this style (lacking the limmerick of course).

I call her “The Butterly Woman Dances.”

What do you think?

