Doodlesketchin’ #12

THIS IS FOR MONDAY’S ISSUE! ~Phew~ Sorry, I just got late again because I was busy and didn’t notice the time, but yes this is the content post for monday. Recently, I have taken it upon myself to take extra classes to improve my drawing skills and so, I’m now taking a workshop module in concept art which will do just that. So far so good and I have a piece from my first concept art class to show you as my DDS #12.

Using nothing but a pot of ink and a sharp-ended stick, I scratched, etched and smudged away to draw from an object. Yes, the object was an animal skull. I’m just suprised I could get detail and a range of blending techniques mixed onto my first drawing in the class. I guess that being in love with and practising art since I was 12 finally paid off, as I’m really pleased with the outcome of this one. The swirls and text that are cut off, were just extras while I was waiting for my tutor… ’twas just to add a bit more of a theme to the drawing (which takes the initiative). What I would like everybody to learn from this one, is that you should be free and confident to experiment with different drawing tools and see what results you get, as you may find portraying a piece of art easier with a pot of ink and a paintbrush compared to a pencil or pen. Thankyou for reading and see you next time 🙂 .

One thought on “Doodlesketchin’ #12

  1. It can also be fun to get a stick or piece of bamboo, a razor or knife, and cut it in such a way as to make your own pen. It works surprisingly well and you can get a very fine line with it. 🙂

What do you think?

